#PetPeeve…What’s Yours?

23 May

Wikipedia defines a pet peeve as the following:

A pet peeve (or pet hate) is a minor annoyance that an individual identifies as particularly annoying to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.

Today I realized I have quite a few pet peeves. Now I shall enlighten you as to what those are… Oh, and I’ve included my own commentary on each one. Enjoy 🙂

  • Miami drivers. You’re all crazy!
  • [Miami] drivers who don’t understand what that lever to the left of their steering wheel is…Hey, guess what! It’s called a “turn signal” or a “blinker.”
  • [Miami] drivers who insist on driving in the left lane and making me pass on the right! Left = fast, right = slow. Did you guys not have driver’s ed???
  • Runners/walkers/bikers who also don’t follow the above bullet point. We are in the USA, not the UK or Australia.
  • When I spend valuable time cleaning and organizing and 10 minutes later someone screws it all up. F you!
  • Flaky people. Why make plans in the first place?
  • Anything and everything my current roommate does (hope she doesn’t read this…)
  • When people who speak both English and a foreign language engage in a foreign language conversation right in front of you, knowing you only speak English. Stop talking about me biatch!
  • People on power trips. Get over yourself.
  • People who ask dumb questions. Are you effing kidding me!?!
  • People who flash their money around and take their blessings for granted. I was raised on a farm – I know the meaning of hard work and the meaning of a $1.
  • The politics of life. Why can’t life be simple?
  • Shitty customer service. I’ve been a waitress, it’s not that hard to split checks – stop making lame excuses!
  • Kids who jump off the diving board when they know they can’t swim. I used to be a lifeguard. I mean… This seems like common sense. Can’t swim = don’t go in 10ft. deep water… Just sayin…
  • Line skippers. Wait your turn like the rest of us, asshole!
  • Slow computers. Ugh! I have work to do!
  • Liars. I can see right through you.
  • Whiners and complainers. Shut your pie hole ’cause I don’t want to hear it (unless you’re my good friend, of course 🙂 )
  • Catty estrogen females. Take yo drama to yo mama.
  • People constantly bumping into me at a show. I know I’m 5’1″ but yes, I do exist, and yes, I’m standing here.
  • Restaurants that run out of menu items. You’re a restaurant – do some better forecasting! If you know sweet potatoes are popular and you always run out, order more! Duh!
  • Ex-boyfriends. Can’t you just stay out of my life for good?
  • Guys who play games. Stop saying you don’t play them, ’cause you do! And it’s very annoying.
  • People who can’t carry on a conversation. If I wanted to have a one-sided conversation, I’d talk to the wall. Please, enlighten me.
  • Overly competitive people. It’s just a game.
  • People who don’t flush. Step 1) Place finger or foot on button/handle/lever, Step 2) Push down.
  • People who pee on the toilet seat. WTF?! EW!
  • People who knock it before they try it. You don’t have a valid opinion unless you’ve actually experienced ___ first-hand!
  • When people step on the back of my shoe. Either slow the eff down or walk around me, but don’t step on me! It hurts and you’re ruining my shoe.
  • When people are bitchy to your face and act like everything is okay the next time they see you.  No, I have not forgotten that you’re a rude b*tch.
  • People with no manners. There is such a thing as “please” and “thank you”. Now that I’ve taught you this, you’re welcome. See how this works now?
  • People who don’t clean up after their dog. Carry a plastic bag and pick up the poop so pedestrians don’t have to walk facing down watching out for dog crap, and so we don’t step in it and smell like $h*t for the rest of the day (literally).
  • Not receiving my Twitter mentions via my Hootsuite android app. I paid $2.99 (or something like that) for this app! I want to see when people are tweeting @ me!
  • Lastly… This (see picture below). Enough said.

Now I know I said my blog would be more about social media and what not… So, to tie this into social media (and for shits ‘n giggles), I’m asking YOU to add your #petpeeve in a comment below this post. Then, kindly tweet it (if you have Twitter) and be sure to include @Aubrey_Swanson and #PetPeeve. I’m way too excited to see what ticks you off 🙂

2 Responses to “#PetPeeve…What’s Yours?”

  1. Wolfgang H. Pinther May 24, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    LMAO!!! You definately noted some of mine in your list!!!

    • Aubrey Swanson May 24, 2011 at 8:58 am #

      I thought of more this morning! Adding them… 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

